Tropical Plants in First Views June, 2014

DSCF5982

Esperanza and Pride of Barbados in the Fiesta Bed looking toward the Upper Garden from the field side

I despaired about how late into June these finally return from the roots and commence blooming. Then I realized they bloom until late October.

 

Crocosmia

Crocosmia, my favorite Thug

 

Summering container plants in the Upper Garden: Burro's Tail, Mistletoe Cactus, Tillandisa

Summering container plants in the Upper Garden: Burro’s Tail, Mistletoe Cactus, Tillandisa

.

Tropicals in Upper Garden: Hymenocallis and Gingers with Shrimp Plant

Tropicals in Upper Garden: Hymenocallis and Gingers with Shrimp Plant

Bengal Tiger Canna in the Front Garden.

Bengal Tiger Canna in the Front Garden.

 

Crinum Jagus in the Back Yard

Crinum Jagus in the Back Yard

Crinum Jagus up Close

Crinum Jagus up Close

First of new broods of Butterflies to arrive

First of new broods of Butterflies to arrive

6 Comments

  1. Bwahahahaha, crocosmia the thug! Is the Esperanza invasive because I know I’ve read that the Pride of Barbados is. Do the hummingbirds like the Esperanza? Can we have a pic next time of the actual plant/leaves of Esperanza?

    • Nell Jean

       /  June 30, 2014

      Esperanza up close

      Neither Pride of Barbados nor Esperanza is invasive here in zone 8b. They die back to roots in winter and seedlings don’t have a chance. Intentionally planted seedlings started indoors really early may or may not survive. I am waiting for third season plants to bloom now. Loropetalum on the other hand, seeds about.

    • Ha! How’d you get that photo in the comments? I didn’t think that could be done? Thanks for the photo. Very attractive bush and I like those yellow flowers.

    • Nell Jean

       /  June 30, 2014

      The reason I am not fond of WordPress is that it has these neat tricks — if you can find them. I responded to your comment in the comments section of my dashboard rather than at the bottom of the post. The screen there gives all kind of HTML options. One of the options is an image button. Some of the others I haven’t the

        slightest

      idea what they are for. Obviously. I thought UL meant underline. Not.

      .

    • Well, I was blown away! 😆

  2. The Butterfly photo is awesome!

