Bloom Day May 2014

May in gardens farther north is at the height of Spring Bloom. Here in the Coastal South, it is the end of spring, beginning of summer and more work than I can get to.

Amaryllis Appleblossom

Amaryllis Appleblossom bloomed from an offset I potted last year from a bigger bulb .

Persian Shield is blooming in the greenhouse, emerging from the roots in the garden.

Persian Shield is blooming in the greenhouse, emerging from the roots in the garden.

DSCF4345Outside, Daylilies are full of buds and some are starting to bloom.


DSCF4632Vintage ‘Seven Sisters Rose’ and Confederate Jasmine climb an oak.

DSCF4683Louisiana Swamp Iris are winding down.

DSCF4686Hydrangeas are just starting to show color. Oakleaf Hydrangeas are almost fully open.

DSCF4705“Laura Bush’ petunias growing in cracks between a brick wall and the driveway.

Butterflies are just starting to appear. There was a Pipevine Swallowtail on Laura Bush yesterday.

DSCF4715‘Little Gem’ Magnolia perfumes the air. Seedling Rose Campion is everywhere.

 

DSCF4760First of true lilies to bloom, a LA Lily whose name I’ve forgotten.

 

We are linking up with Carol for Bloom Day at May Gardens.

I hope you will take time to leave a message. If you can’t leave a message on a WordPress blog, please visit

Secrets of a Seedscatterer on Blogger and/or Dotty Plants Journal, my greenhouse blog

both of which may be more message-friendly. I’ve disabled the word verification there.

 

Previous Post

9 Comments

  1. Have not seen you posting of fb, hope all is well with you

  2. Did you grow the Persian Shield from seeds? I love to use this plant as a filler in containers, but it’s sometimes hard to find at the garden centers. If it’s easy to start from seeds, I’ll have to try this next year. Love your blue hydrangeas! In my alkaline soil, they all turn pink. Enjoy seeing your daylilies, too–it will be awhile before they bloom up here in the Midwest.

    • Nell Jean

       /  May 19, 2014

      I bought one Persian Shield several years ago and keep them going by taking cuttings.

      There are blooms in the greenhouse now. If they set seed and ripen, I will try sowing them to see how difficult they are.

  3. Just Lovely 🙂
    and do not miss…

    SATURDAY SHOW OFF

    it is FUN 🙂
    Welcome
    Håkan, The Roseman

  4. I’m a few days late, but Happy Bloom Day!
    I love the Seven Sisters Rose

  5. What gorgeous plants! We’re moving back to coastal Georgia in August. I can’t wait to see what new things I can grow.

  6. I have never seen a more beautiful photo of an oakleaf hydrangea blossom. My young oakleaf hydrangea is not quite there yet. Wonderful plants.

  7. Hello Nell Jean, now I see some plants that can grow here too, although a bit difficult. But it seems the hippeastrums are not yet fully opening, i know you have plenty of those under those trees.

  8. You are way ahead of us in the garden…..It makes me happy to look at your pics because it’s a preview of coming attractions! Happy GBBD!

