Hyacinths now Appearing Outdoors

I had 4 dozen indoor forced hyacinths this year in pink and white. Most Pink Pearl went to new homes. I hope most of them were taken out of their little pots and planted for next year bloom.

China Pink  Hyacinths from a previous year, planted out after forcing.

China Pink Hyacinths from a previous year, planted out after forcing.

Most catalogs and hort sites suggest tossing forced Hyacinths. I can show you rebloom and more rebloom in subsequent years. Forcing in soil assures a better second year bloom but most forced in water will also rebloom the next year if planted out soon after the flowers fade. Cut off the florets and leave the stem. I plant up to the neck of the bulb. Plant past the neck if you are in a colder climate. Bloom always depends on soil, water, good drainage and sunshine. Sometimes they skip a year.

Blue Jacket. There is little difference in performance between Delft Blue and Blue Jacket.

Blue Jacket. There is little difference in performance between Delft Blue and Blue Jacket.

DSCF2529

A broader view of pinks on the far side, blue in the foreground.  Spiraea on the right was cut back recently. Far across the lawn is my cabbage patch.

A different view of China Pink.

A different view of China Pink.

Jan Bos, deep pink, strong grower.

Jan Bos, deep pink, strong grower.

China Pink. I keep adding pinks to this bed of Daffodils in rough grass around a deciduous Crape Myrtle. Bulb foliage is long gone by the time the Crape leafs out.

China Pink. I keep adding pinks to this bed of Daffodils in rough grass around a deciduous Crape Myrtle. Bulb foliage is long gone by the time the Crape leafs out.

DSCF2568DSCF2566

Festival Blue. These are more like the old Roman Hyacinths that bloomed where I spent my childhood. They multiply and the stems are less formal.

Like Daffodils, there are Hyacinths with differing bloom times which extends the season.

A few Hyacinth bulbs added every year add up to quite a show.  By fall I will have changed my plans for next year’s bulbs with so many to choose from. They are bound to be a joy when they bloom: Mixed colors, a range of a single color or just one cultivar. Almost forgot to mention the fragrance. 

4 Comments

  1. I too plant my forced hyacinths. They have come back for me. The other day I noticed one had even multiplied from one bulb to four.
    Linda

  2. Nell Jean

     /  February 26, 2014

    Every few years I am compelled for one reason or another, to prove that I can, too, grow Tulips. They are not perennial here as Hyacinths are. When Buffy was a puppy, I tried potted tulips. They came into bud and Buff ate them.

    This year I am trying tulips again, thanks to Longfield Gardens, in whose drawing I was a winner some weeks back. Tulips are in Bud, Fingers crossed. They are growing with Grape Hyacinths and will be followed by Poppies to cover their dying foliage.

  3. Winter bulbs don’t do well here so I finally gave up and quit trying to force the issue. Your China Pinks are beautiful. Can you add some pastel pink tulips among them?

