Spartacus Is a Bright Bloom in February

There’s a second bud that will open after this one, so the joy lasts a long time.

.
.
I won this Amaryllis bulb in a contest that Longfield Gardens had on Facebook in December. Entering the contest required no effort on my part other than adding my name to the list of hopeful gardeners. They did not require that I blog about it or show a picture.
The bulb required no effort on my part other than a pot that would hold a fat bulb, some soil and water.
I forgot to mention that the blooms measure more than 7″ across. Many people like to have Amaryllis for Christmas bloom. I enjoy having Amaryllis coming into bloom all through the worst of winter when huge colorful blossoms bring a bright spot of joy during dreary weather.
5 Comments

  1. Oh my, what a beautiful CHERRY RED color. Especially nice to have in February. Congrats on your win!

  2. wanted to try some bulbs too…but, never did…this is absolutely beautiful…Great to brighten these dreary days!…Coingrats on the win!

  3. Beautiful! I say every year I’m going to force some bulbs, but I never do – and I regret not doing so every year, too! That’s a nice, cheerful color to have on these gray, dreary, winter days. Congratulations on winning it!

  4. a beauty !

    • Nell Jean

       /  February 4, 2014

      I’ll try to remember post reminders next fall when it’s time to buy bulbs and again when it’s time to plant. I’ve already chosen next year’s Hyacinth colors and am seriously considering which Amaryllis.

