Green Boiled Peanuts

Green Boiled Peanuts — the secret is to dig when they are just mature not quite ready for field picking, pick them off immediately, wash and put to boil. Wait until just before they’re done to add 1/2 cup of salt, let them sit in brine until just salty enough.

field peanuts

We picked off an 8 quart boiler full. Digging was a job, even using my spading fork. Lane thinks we can take the tractor with a root rake and just scoop up some vines to pick them off. For those of you who don’t know peanuts, peanuts are not a nut and do not grow on trees. They are a legume and grow on pegs that go down into the soil from the stems, some grow among the roots.

The difference between green boiled peanuts right off the vine and boiled peanuts you buy is like the difference between green black-eyed peas and dried black-eyes.

I still like my peanuts parched or dry-roasted but fresh boiled ain’t bad.

Previous Post

1 Comment

  1. This is SO neat. I never thought about growing peanuts. I didn’t quite understand “the secret is to dig when they are just mature not quite ready for field picking.” I don’t understand field picking, for starters, so I wasn’t gonna understand that no matter what. How do you know when they are mature? It blooms? The plant starts to die back?

