White Shrimp Plant

I’ve been claiming that White Shrimp Plant does not bloom in summer here after I plant it out in bloom when the weather warms. It usually commences bloom in the spring greenhouse and blooms fade shortly after going into the ground.

DSCF6759
Justicia betonica’s   green-veined white bracts hold tiny pink flowers.
This Shrimp plant returned from roots after a mild winter.
 DSCF6762
Two kinds of Shrimp Plant, Justicia brandgeeana in the near view,
Justicia betonica upper left across the walkway.
Copious rainfall is what I think caused such vigorous growth and early bloom.
So much for my theory that  White Shrimp Plant was day-length sensitive.
I guess I simply didn’t water enough. I know that one winter I almost killed the White Shrimps because I wasn’t giving them enough water at a single watering and the bottom half of the pots was dry.
Red Shrimp Plant is hardy here and the plants survive most winters without dying back. White Shrimp Plant dies back to the roots. I always take cuttings just in case. Sometimes I take cuttings of the red just to have them blooming in a pot.
Linking to Tootsie’s Fertilizer Friday meme.
This is a mirror post of Seedscatterer on Blogger,
Some of us on WordPress can’t comment on Blogger and vice versa.
2 Comments

  1. Oh i love that Nell Jean, i haven’t seen that white one yet. So it is Justicia, i thought the leaves and stems look like the Pachystachys lutea or yellow shrimp plant.

  2. it feels like forever since I had time to sit and enjoy everyone’s posts…I am so glad I could drop by today and see your addition to my little party! I love your photos of plants that I do not currently have !!! Thank you so much for linking into my little party this week…I appreciate and enjoy every post!
    I hope you will link in again and again!
    I am also sharing your post to the Tootsie Time Facebook page!
    Have a great week!

    (¯`v´¯)
    `*.¸.*´Glenda/Tootsie
    ¸.•´¸.•*¨) ¸.•*¨)
    (¸.•´ (¸.•´ .•´ ¸¸.•¨¯`•.


    http://www.tootsietime.com

