How Does My Garden Look from Above?

I wasn’t really bored, I just wondered how my plants looked from high in the air. He-Who-Mows was all for lifting me on some farm equipment he rigged for some other task, when I mentioned it. “You know it doesn’t go up evenly like a bucket truck?” he warned. “I’ll leave a note for whomever finds me,” I said, “absolving you of blame in case I fall off and get dead.”

We started out with the Rose Bed in front of the equipment barn in the back yard. Roses photograph better up close. I got off and walked around to the Upper Garden and soon I was surveying it all. That little rail at the right is what I stood beside once back in the air — there’s nothing in front of me. Upper Left is the Front Garden and north driveway. If you squint, you can see the highway running across just below the top of the picture.

This is what I call the ‘Oval Lawn’ in the Upper Garden. The east entrance is flanked by Dogwood trees underplanted with Pink Spirea. You can’t see the Spiraea blooms beginning to open from way up high. the Oval Lawn splits off into two paths toward the west.

Note the grape arbor at far right to orient to the next picture.

Grape arbor now at left, blueberry bushes and pear trees on the far side. Pecan trees in the near view.

Far across the green field, the brown area will soon be planted in peanuts.

Opposite view toward the back field. Toolshed on the right. Behind the toolshed is the pumphouse and a Secret Garden area where my Epiphyllums enjoy the summer.

The viewing platform, the little tractor, He-who-mows and a mower for ballast. The platform goes out, up, tilts, levels, up, tilts, levels — you get the idea. It went as high as I cared to go. I clung to the rail at the back and looked at my camera instead of the ground, going up and down.

Views of part of the Front Garden are Here on Seedscatter on Blogspot.

Roses viewed from up above are Here on Dotty Plants Journal.

Previous Post

3 Comments

  1. bushbernie

     /  April 29, 2013

    Well thanks for risking life and limb to share some wonderful views of your place. You do have a lovely little corner of the world.

  2. What a beautiful place…I would be outside all of the time…
    just wandering from one thing to the next…
    I imagine there is a lot of work…
    but, doing something you love compensates…

  3. You are braver than I! I don’t think I would have had the nerve to go up without a safety belt. But, I loved seeing the views from above. Your garden looks great.

