White Blossoms for Easter

 

 Phildelphus inodorus
Mama called her Philadelphus ‘English Dogwood’ and hers was double and fragrant. This is native Dogwood, Cornus florida. Many of my Dogwoods had sparse blooms this year.
Sweet alyssum, easy from seed and Bath’s Pinks, easily divided.
Iberis, or Candytuft. Cuttings for this Candytuft came from a neighbor’s garden in 1973.
Two of the original plants survived her. I am rooting more now.
Native Azalea ‘Alabamense’
A yellow Native Azalea I posted recently I don’t
know the cultivar  Several people asked. I suspect the yellow may be
‘Varnadoe’s Lemon Drop’ or a hybrid of it..
This is just plain ‘Alabamense,’ native not hybrid.
Previous Post

6 Comments

  1. Oh how lovely – the white dogwood brings back so many good memories of our front garden in RichmondVa. USA. We don’t have them here!

  2. Lovely collection of plants.

  3. The dogwoods are blooming in perfect time for Easter. Isn’t that wonderful, even in such an odd-weather year as this! Happy Easter!

  4. Sweet blooms, Nell Jean. Love “white clouds in the woods”. That is a sweet description of them.

  5. Jean we have full blooms on our dogwoods, they are not fully in bloom but should really pop in several days. Do you remember the wild pink ones in the area we grew up in? Wish you a very happy Easter.

    • Nell Jean

       /  March 30, 2013

      You know, Anita, I don’t remember dogwoods up there at all. Mama never had a
      dogwood in the yard and I don’t remember Ethel, Mary or Frances or even Mack
      having one either.

      Mama did have what she called ‘English Dogwood’ and I call Mock Orange.

      Well, I said I don’t remember dogwoods, I just remember them as white clouds
      in the woods, usually not in people’s yards.

      You have a Happy Easter, too.

