Camellias on Bloom Day January 2013

Camellias are not the only blossoms in my garden this Bloom Day but they are the most spectacular.

My MIL called this one ‘Bloody China’ — Blood of China

We’re having unseasonably warm temperatures for mid-January so Camellias are at their finest. Starting with seedlings, of which only two have open blooms. The others have buds and show color.

Seedling in my Garden

This pretty red is blooming under a Taiwan Cherry. They clash beautifully, as my mother used to say.

Red Seedling up Close

Imagine how surprised I was when this seedling bloomed for the first time. It resembles nothing else in the garden.  The seeds came from a dark pink cultivar.

Striped seedling

The bees were out today, sampling.

The rest of these blooms are on old plants here for fifty years.

White:

The gaudiest tree in the garden:

Mathotiana, also called Rubra, the most formal bloom:

Rubra

Thanks to Carol at May Dreams Gardens for hosting Bloom Day this January when dreams of Spring blooms are in many gardeners’ thoughts. Please do visit and link.

 

My indoor blooms are at Dotty Pants Journal where I mostly keep greenhouse notes and photos.

 

The other blossoms I discovered for Bloom day are on Seedscatterer Blogspot. I found some surprises and some not so unexpected this time of year.

Next Post

8 Comments

  1. I am tickled at the number of January blooms you have. I am so excited for the next month or two to be over. I like that expression about the flowers clashing beautifully. Those blooms with white on them are a fun surprise. I think they are pretty.

  2. Beautiful blooms!
    And so many buds still to open!
    Have a wonderful day!
    Lea
    Lea’s Menagerie

  3. You have some beautiful camellias. I especially like the striped one. I am impressed that you are growing seedlings. I can see that you have a way with camellias!

  4. I am drooling over your Camellias – you know…I don’t know if I have ever even seen one before. WOWZERS!

  5. Camellias are such beautiful flowers. They grow them in the Smith College greenhouse, but they never look quite as beautiful as those grown outdoors. Great photos.

  6. They are very spectacular! And somehow if the leaves are hidden, they really look like roses!

  7. Camellias are one of the holy grails of some northern gardeners. Yours are spectacular. Happy GBBD!

  8. Beautiful! And magical, too. Ours started way early this year and are all gone. Amazingly warm here, and being enjoyed!

