Thinking Outside the Flower Pot

Not all house plants must grow in a traditional pot. Steve Asbell introduced me to the idea of plants growing in a grapevine ball.

Hanging is not convenient, so I set the sphere in an old clay pot with lots of patina. The pot sits in a bonsai saucer or on a tray of pebbles, depending on my whim as I search for an ideal spot.
My homemade grapevine balls are loose and clumsy. Grapevines are abundant here, so maybe my wrapping technique will improve. Enough space has to remain in that long-cut moss so the root balls of plants can be inserted. Rooting cuttings in a tray with a long thing root bed seems ideal.
Later I set the ball into the top of a decorative cache pot.
See at the bottom, there’s a frond of Resurrection Fern?
I used what wais at hand here: Christmas Cactus cuttings, Graptopetalum rosettes and Resurrection fern, topped off with a Bromeliad pup.
Resurrection Fern turned out not ideal for a Moss Ball.
This fern likes a constantly moist surface and plenty of humidity. Once it dries out, I have a hard time ‘resurrecting’ it. Next I will try some kind of dainty fern that came up in the Greenhouse floor.
Graptopetalum makes a good contrast to finer foliage. Its only drawback is that it
tends to get leggy. I just break off and re-stick when it begins to hang on a long stem.
Only the fern at the bottom retains enough water
 to stay green and not all of it looks hydrated.
I can hardly wait for the Schlumbergera to
open, six weeks before Christmas.
This is a mirror post to my Dotty Plants blog on Blogspot.
Not all visitors can reply on one or the other, so I duplicate some posts between WordPress and Blogger.

Flaunting Flowers with Tootsie Time — come join us!

1 Comment

  1. Evlin

     /  November 24, 2012

    Nice

