Native Plants Gone to Seed

This offering is a mirror of the Natives post in Secrets of a Seedscatterer on Blogger.
Come with me to see Natives in the meadows, mostly going to seed now that nights are cool.

Tricorn-shaped seed bracts hold seeds of Elephant’s Foot
I wasn’t gathering seeds, I was just looking at where they grew this year and the variety of changes that occur. Some  years Rabbit tobacco is the featured flower; this year in short supply.
Rabbit Tobacco and Bluestem grass
Agalinis is almost done blooming and seeds are plentiful.
Last year’s seeds blew from west to east, self planting beside a mown path.
A yellow aster and Erigeron dot the meadows.
More Elephantapus seeds. Its leaves are flat to the ground.
Somehow I caught myself in the mirror when I was intent on
these grasses.
Silk Grass still in bloom, with seeds already formed.
Some years back, Vervain was plentiful and
butterflies flocked to it. Scarce this year.
I love the light shining through the trees to backlight grapevines that are
turning yellow. Much of our fall color is from vines including the red leaves
of poison ivy.
Sumac is one of our brightest reds. Deer tend to keep them pruned back.
I saw no Sumac seeds, but seedling trees are plentiful.
Back at the house, there is a good supply of Dogwood seeds.
I never tire of photographing Dogwoods in bloom, and seeds.
This one volunteered by the pumphouse a few years back
probably planted by a bird; they help with propagation by
running the seed through their gullet to prepare it to grow.
 I transplanted the seedling out where it would have more room.
Dogwoods easily grow to a ten foot tree in a few years.
For some reason, there are no dogwoods along patches of woods in the meadows. Last year I gathered dogwood seeds and tossed along woods’ edge in hopes they might start. This year I may try poking the seeds into the ground with a stick, which worked well in the flower garden.
2 Comments

  1. How wonderful nature is – I also have erigeron and just love it!

  2. Anita

     /  October 21, 2012

    Jean, my camellia Sasanqua is a pale pink, it too is old about 40 years.

