October Bloom Day still with Bright Colors

It’s too early for brilliant leaf color here. Sometimes it never arrives, leaves just turn brown and fall. We do have signs of impending cooler weather.

Roses are putting on a final show.
A cutting of this rose is in bud in the greenhouse.
Pentas with purple Alternanthera and bare stems of Agapanthus.
Gulf Muhly’s feathery blooms with remnants of
Melampodium, Lantana and Tithonia.
‘White Dawn’ with red berries of Dogwood in background.
It is time to gather Dogwood berries and stick in the ground
where you want them to grow.
Tecoma stans Esperanza still blooming.
Cloudless Sulphur butterflies are still visiting.
Tecoma stans seeds are bountiful.
Camellia sasanqua’s abundant buds are
starting to open. They smell like tea.
We could have frost at any time but it is not imminent.
Our nightly temperatures are still in the low fifties Fahrenheit.
Let’s join Carol at May Dreams Gardens where Roses continue to bloom and see what blossoms other gardeners are enjoying this Bloom Day.
10 Comments

  1. Nell Jean – Remembered my question for you. Have you ever pinched the tops out of the Tithonia when it is young to keep it shorter?

  2. This is my first year growing Tithonia. I wish it was like yours and remained at a reasonable height. Nosireebob, mine is almost 6 feet tall and STILL growing.

    • Nell Jean

       /  August 17, 2013

      My Tithonia is six feet tall, too. There are a couple of short ones here and there that got a late start. If you want short, get seeds next year of the short ones. I like the tall for a real forest for butterflies.

    • I had no idea seeds were available for a shorter version. I don’t mind the tall one, as the seeds were given to me for free, but I can’t photograph butterflies when they are above me.

  3. Randy Hyden

     /  October 20, 2012

    I love the Pink Muhly too ! Mine finally popped just as you said it would ! Thanks for tip.

  4. Hi NJ, garden still looking lovely, I love those soft pink feathery grassy things.

  5. Skeeter

     /  October 16, 2012

    Your lantana looks so great when mine has fizzled out on me. Great idea of the corn in the bowls esp as a center piece. I have never seen a firecracker fern before! That is one neat plant and I can only imagine the hummingbirds enjoy it as well. The Cloudless Sulfur is one of the visitors we are seeing now as well. But my favorite is the Gulf Fritillary, I just love their closed wing colors…Happy Fall…

  6. I didn’t know I could do cuttings in the fall with my greenhouse room. I will try it! Thanks for your constant inspiration.

  7. I see your roses coming to an end and mine are just about to bloom. There is still lots of colour in your garden. Thanks for sharing!

  8. love the muhly grass. This comment stuff drives me crazy too..

