Journey through a Stroll Garden Part I

Since I retired I buy fewer books. I’ve given away many books. There are some gardening books that are like old friends, I would never part with them. I trot them out like the treasures they are and discover them all over again.

The Inward Garden by Julie Moir Messervy is one that has has come to the table once again.

I thought of it when I made pictures on which I meant to discover where the parts of my garden need most work.

When I looked at the pics that I had meant for my eyes only, I decided to share some in a post; actually two posts on Blogger and WordPress that will mirror one another but not repeat the photos.

These warm May days the Journey begins when I pass the first gardenia planting.

DSCF6437

There is a set of steps in the middle of the gardenia walk that lead through the azaleas, usually only a short-cut for the dog. I made a second set at the end so I didn’t have to walk around on the right-of-way in my garden clothes so close to the highway.

DSCF6449

There is a short path naturally covered in pine needles leading to the grass paths of the Upper Garden. This used to be the herb garden. There is still oregano and thyme on the left; the right side has a bird bath and tiny flowers for close inspection.

DSCF6451

Violas will last longer here because of the shade. I put Bath’s pinks but I doubt they’ll get enough sunshine to bloom next Spring.

DSCF6454

The Upper Garden has a series of parallel grass paths that gently curve. DSCF6459

Always in a state of change, the paths mostly lead back to the house – Miss Messervy’s word is hut.

DSCF6488

At the opposite end, the two center paths converge on a wide grassy space that I call the Oval Lawn.

  The south side of the Oval Lawn has Blue Hydrangeas backed by orange daylilies    now ending the first flush of bloom and replaced by Orienpet lilies.

‘Orania’

DSCF6493

A broad path leads back to the Front Garden. All my paths are wide enough for a 54” mower. Most are broad enough for my little truck.

The north side of the Oval Path has mostly pink flowers: Echinacea, Pentas, ‘Belinda’s Dream’ rose and pink daylilies.

DSCF6490

The second part of this Garden Stroll is on my Blogger  Blog, Dotty Plants. I am working on ways to make commenting easier. Those who can’t comment on one or the other may use WordPress or Blogger.

DSCF6496Join the Party at Tootsie Time for Fertilizer Friday.

7 Comments

  1. I started to drool when I read “Gardenias” on the way to “Azaleas”! Jealous! What a wonderful stroll. Thanks for sharing your beautiful path with us!

  2. OMG….what a gorgeous garden you have!!! I thank you so much for linking in this week. It is an honor to host Friday’s Flaunt and meet new friends and visit the regulars (who are like old friends) who share. I always feel so privelaged to know that inspiration is just a click away when need a bit of a boost for my spirits! It is a pleasure to tour and see all the gorgeous blooms…landscapind and ideas that all the participants share, and I appreciate each and every link and comment! I have shared your post today with my facebook page for Tootsie Time. I hope you will link in again soon!
    (¯`v´¯)
    `*.¸.*´Glenda/Tootsie
    ¸.•´¸.•*¨) ¸.•*¨)
    (¸.•´ (¸.•´ .•´ ¸¸.•¨¯`•.

  3. I loved this stroll with you through the garden spaces – thanks!

  4. Is that a pink oakleaf hydrangea on the Oval Lawn? That is my current lust list. A friend has one that is blooming right now. Not quite as spectacularly as yours but it catches the eye. She won’t even give me a cutting from the back of it until it has done it’s thing.

  5. Beautiful – love the bank of gardenias. I’m a tad too cold to do that, but I am experimenting with a supposedly “hardy” one in a new bed we created this year. (Lots of hostas around it in case it doesn’t make winter’s cut.
    Thanks for taking us on the stroll!

  6. Gardenia? As in you have gardenia planted in the ground growing well!
    I have one in a pot I can barely keep alive. You have beautiful gardens.

    • Nell Jean

       /  May 29, 2012

      The ones in the ground are easier for me than the one I had in a pot. It was prone to wilting. I put it in a larger pot. It grew so well it started wilting again.

