Mood Indigo – from Blue to Purple

You ain’t been blue; no, no, no.
You ain’t been blue,
Till you’ve had that mood indigo.
That feelin’ goes stealin’ down to my shoes
While I sit and sigh, “Go ‘long blues”.

– Mitchell Parish, officially attributed to Irving Mills. The song was originally called ‘Dreamy Blues’ which is more applicable to blues and purples in the garden.

DSCF6363

Sulphur butterfly on Lantana montevidensis with violas and alternanthera.

Broad look at Lantana and violas. Smaller butterflies and skippers are attracted here. Most won’t stand still for a close-up.DSCF6362

Dark swallowtail butterflies are visiting Vitex full bloom.DSCF6374

Finally an agapanthus bloom almost open, backed by Purple Heart.DSCF6388

DSCF6394

Hydrangea serrata with lacecap blooms.

Hydrangea macrophylla blooming with white LA lilies.

DSCF6403

A Spicebush Swallowtail nectars on Purple Coneflower. DSCF6408

“Easter Bonnet” LA lily blooming against Loropetalum.

DSCF6409

A broader look at Loropetalum and lilies.

DSCF6416

“Mood Indigo” is featured in the films Paris Blues  with Paul Newman (1961), The Untouchables (1987) and The Legend of Bagger Vance (2000). It is also the closing music (credits) for the film The Cotton Club (1984).

— almost forgot my Aubergines:

Eggplants ‘Little Prince’ growing in containers.

What blues and purples are in your garden?

2 Comments

  1. My gosh I had no idea Georgia gardening would be so stunning (ok actually I know very little about Georgia) anyways your blooms are beautiful and the eggplants my oh my they look beautiful – I won’t grow them where I live, they would be fighting my tomato plants for the warm spots.
    I have some blues, forget me nots are all over the place, some blue bulbs that are almost done and my lupines are just opening and a few are blueish. I planted a new to me plant – Jacob’s Ladder with blue flowers, I hope it makes it through the winter.

  2. Oh I love your LA Lilies! How beautiful! The eggplants are also impressive – I have never tried these – are the y easy to grow??

