My Vegetable Garden in Containers

First tomato blossom forming. They set fruit when nighttime temps rise to 55-60 degrees.

Eggplant, peppers and tomatoes. Do you like that the five gallon bucket says ‘Extreme’?

Peppers of Crimson, Orange and Yellow with tiny markers for the colors.

Tomatoes, eggplant and peppers. There are herb cuttings and seedlings as well, needing gathering into pots. Oh, and the lettuce. I forgot about the Romaine lettuce which is finally of eating size.

This tomato is in isolation until I find what is eating it.

Join us at Tootsie Time for the meme: Flaunt Your Flowers, also known as Fertilizer Friday.

–I almost had a disaster. Put the wrong blog in as Tootsie Time! Sometimes I’m just not paying attention.

Previous Post

7 Comments

  1. Nice photos Nell Jean. Is the Extreme bucket a symbol of the soil or the expected bounty from the tomato plant contained within?

    • Nell Jean

       /  April 23, 2012

      I hope there will be a bountiful harvest following the extreme measures I’m taking to encourage growth in these unsettling weather times we’re having.

  2. I’ll have to have a go again this year – tried a couple years ago and must’ve fed the tomatoes the wrong fertilizer – they filled the greenhouse with greenery – and not much else! Good luck with yours they look great!

    • Nell Jean

       /  April 16, 2012

      I think there are some tricks — mind you, I haven’t tried them yet — like shaking the plants to insure that the blossoms set fruit. I don’t know if these can survive until fall to come inside so I can have ripe tomatoes in November and December. I have more seed, just in case.

  3. So funny about the tomato in isolation until you know ‘what’s eating it’. Would be good to be able to do that to people. 🙂

    • Nell Jean

       /  April 16, 2012

      Curtiss Ann, that’s a good thought.

  4. Nell Jean

     /  April 15, 2012

    I didn’t know this post didn’t post with text and pictures, only a title. Sometimes I just don’t look closely enough.

