Persian Shield in Bloom

Persian Shield Strobilanthes dyerianus is usually grown for the beautiful purple and silver foliage.  Blooms are rarely seen except when grown under glass or as a houseplant.

Persian shield grown in more sun has a silvery appearance rather than the deep purple of those grown in shade. These are growing in a pot with Purple heart, with lemongrass and Salvia leucantha in nearby pots and purple alternanthera weaving through everything. I do like lots of purple in my garden.

Sometimes Persian Shield is called ‘Conehead’ for the flowers.

Buds forming in leaf axil.

Hardy in zones 10-11, sometimes dies back in zone 9. In my zone 8b garden, it dies back and usually returns, not guaranteed. I pot up pieces to bring inside for the winter, just in case. That’s how I came to notice blooms.

It’s Fertilizer Friday on Tootsie Time.

Join the fun and show your blossoms.

Next Post

5 Comments

  1. In spite of all the drama and all the demands on my time as of late, I always look forward to finding time to host and share for Fertilizer Friday. I am so lucky to have such a great group of gardeners to share with…thank you so much for linking into my little party today…I look forward to many more posts as wonderful as this from you! (and to having the time to see every one of them!)
    I hope your week/weekend is just what you hoped it would be!!!
    (¯`v´¯)
    `*.¸.*´Glenda/Tootsie
    ¸.•´¸.•*¨) ¸.•*¨)
    (¸.•´ (¸.•´ .•´ ¸¸.•¨¯`•.

  2. Thanks for sending the link to these photos. The Persian Shield flower is larger and prettier than I expected from a plant with such showy leaves. A very pleasant surprise. I hope to see mine bloom someday. Thanks again. Garden Ally

  3. 7aces/Darla

     /  February 17, 2012

    This is one of the plants that I adore BUT have had zeroluck in growing. How do you grow yours, in what conditions?

    • Nell Jean

       /  February 17, 2012

      At least part shade, well drained. You can tell if they are not getting enough water, the lower leaves will turn crispy. A big piece seems to root better than a small cutting.

  4. I changed the theme for this blog. The new look hides comments much too well. There is a tiny comic cloud at top left of the post. I hate to have to change yet again because of such a silly thing, but it is too inconvenient for readers.

