Look Out! Here Comes Winter

My tulip

The wind changed today, a front moved through and temperatures are headed downward, freezing on Saturday and Sunday nights is expected after rain moves out. I’ve seen a peach blossom. Blueberries are starting to bloom. Azaleas are showing pink here and there.

White azaleas did not wait.

In the distance, deciduous magnolia ‘Leonard Messell’ has offered pink blossoms for a month, but holds back some tight buds for later.

You can just see white azaleas in the background. Warm weather has not fooled pecan trees. They know it isn’t time. Dogwoods are still holding their grey buds tightly closed.

We’ve been pruning: grapevines, boxwoods, trees. It’s been fine weather for working.
I’m joining Tootsie’s Blog Party at Fertilizer Friday Flaunt Your Flowers

9 Comments

  1. My daffodils are blooming, but not my azaleas…not yet. The next few days are supposed to be in the 50’s when usually it is in the 30’s and 40’s….strange weather.

    • Nell Jean

       /  February 16, 2012

      Those were the only azaleas to bloom early and two nights of freezing turned them brown. I haven’t looked to see if they held back tight buds to bloom again. I am going to try to root some to see what they do under glass next year.

  2. Love those tulips and daffodils … mine is still frozen in the ground. Have a wonderful weekend. Warm hugs, Esther

  3. thank you so much for linking in today! I am so glad to have so many wonderful gardens to look at …and so much great info to read! I hope to see you again soon…and to come back and catch up in a few days!
    I am so sick of winter I can’t wait for spring!

  4. 7aces/Darla

     /  February 10, 2012

    Crape Myrtles are my Spring indicator and they have not been fooled either. Your Daffs are gorgeous!!

  5. Love your Tulip. Not a flower to be seen in my garden so it’s good to see so many here .

  6. I simply love those white Azalea blooms! Absolutely stunning. Love the Tulip in your greenhouse too!

  7. What a beautiful white azalea!! and yes, a cold Sunday is in the forecast. so far for us here in Zone 9b it ‘just’ drops to 41F. still too cold for orchids and tropicals to stay outside. Tomorrow is hauling time for me :/

  8. We are at the end of a period of serious winter just now… From sunday onwards, it won’t be freezing daysover anymore. We had a mild fall, and December and January were mild too, but since the end of January, it has been freezing constantly here, and we had snow too.
    Luckily, most plants still were holding back… so I guess not too much damage has been done.

