Evergreen Camellias: Winter Delight in the South

Camellias given as a gift always represent something good.  An emblem for varying shades of love, they are also thought to be lucky when presented to a man. Each color of Camellia has a different meaning: red indicates passion, pink stands for longing, white denotes admiration and perfection.

CAMELLIA: Gratitude, loveliness. This one here for more than 40 years. I think it was a birthday present to my Mother-in-law from her sister Annie, who even has a seedling that she grew posthumously named for her.

PINK CAMELLIA: Longing for you. This pink stripe is a seedling, from my ‘stick it in the ground and see if it grows’ days.

Another of my seedlings.

RED CAMELLIA: You’re a flame in my heart.

WHITE CAMELLIA: You’re adorable. This one is indeed adorable.

In Chinese lore, the petals reflect the spirit of a lady, and the holder of the petals (the calyx) represents the young man entrusted by the lady as her protector. Camellias show up in literature, even in ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ by Harper Lee. As adored in the Southern United States as in their country of origin, Camellias are a garden favorite.

I’ll be linking to Fertilizer Friday if Tootsie is able to gain computer access this week, Flaunting these Flowers that are so noticeable in the landscape.

3 Comments

  1. I love camellias, so far I just have two, but I plan to add more 🙂

  2. Gorgeous, and to think some were just seedlings! I love the pink striped one. Your camellias are a bit ahead of mine, but I think within a week or so ours will be in full bloom. We have had heavy rains which have soddened and knocked down blooms, so I hope the rain lets up so I can enjoy them!

  3. Gorgeous! Thanks for the info.

