The Wonders of a Gardener’s Christmas

Every year is different. My mother always had paperwhite Narcissus blooming at Christmas. Mine are moving in that direction and should be blooming on the twenty-fifth.

Meanwhile I’ve had Amaryllis in bloom for more than a week, the first fading. The two newest to bloom include Appleblossom, which I never expected to be fragrant and a salmon color that is not the bright pink I expected.

My Christmas Cactus which is really an epiphyte and not a cactus at all is in bear full bloom but with enough tight buds I think it will last until Christmas.

Begonias are a good choice for Christmas bloom, too. Common little plants, they can be rescued from sure death in the garden to bloom inside with a moderate bright light source. I’ve been looking at Swedish blogs. They show lots of white flowers and white accessories to reflect the lower light of December.

I potted up hyacinths galore, some in stones and water, and some in pots of soil. There’s one in the little white container on the left. I’m seeing little green tips on some of the buds. If they don’t bloom by Christmas, they will bring cheer all through dreary January, along with the potted tulip bulbs that were due out of the chill today and I forgot. They’ll wait for the morning.

Tootsie Time

Flaunt your Flowers Friday at Tootsie Time click for link.

13 Comments

  1. I love the white pots, Nell. Perfect for the white begonias!

    • Nell Jean

       /  December 10, 2011

      I bought all they had (6) when Home Depot marked them down. I’m trying for a ‘Scadinavian meets Tropical’ look in the greenhouse.

  2. The begonias and the amaryllis are really pretty – love your greenhouse!

  3. Love your greenhouse! The begonias and amaryllis are very pretty.

  4. I thank you so much for linking in this week. It is an honor to host Friday’s Flaunt and meet new friends and visit the regulars (who are like old friends) who share. I am always excited to tour each post and see the different flowers/ projects and garden art that everyone flaunts. It is a pleasure to tour and see all the gorgeous blooms…and I appreciate each and every link and comment! I have shared your post today with my facebook page for Tootsie Time. I hope you will link in again soon!
    (¯`v´¯)
    `*.¸.*´Glenda/Tootsie
    ¸.•´¸.•*¨) ¸.•*¨)
    (¸.•´ (¸.•´ .•´ ¸¸.•¨¯`•.

    • Nell Jean

       /  December 10, 2011

      Everybody’s garden is different this time of year. There is such pleasure in visiting various bloggers to see their blossoms. Thanks for coming by!

  5. Envy down here for your amaryllis. I have their lovely wide blades come up in a few areas in my yard, planted years ago by someone. I had them bloom the first year we moved here, but none since. (: My Christmas cactus are all full of buds, no blooms yet. I’m eager!

    • Nell Jean

       /  December 10, 2011

      Your amaryllis may have sunk too far down to bloom well. My friend Janie T. says her father always scratched the dirt from around his amaryllis before bloom time outdoors in the spring.

  6. Those white Begonias in white pots are fantastic. What a simple idea for decorating at Christmas time. I think your Schlumbergera will definitley last until Christmas day. It’s looking terrific. Love those Amaryllis, particularly Appleblossom!

    • Nell Jean

       /  December 10, 2011

      I was tickled to learn that Appleblossom smells good, Bernie. I was trying for a sort of Scandinavian look with the white blooms and white pots.

  7. What a wonderful idea. The red and the white flowers make the best Chistmas “decorations” . .

    • Nell Jean

       /  December 10, 2011

      I wasn’t sure whether I could pull off a ‘Swedish Christmas in the greenhouse’ look among the tropicals but I’m pleased with red and white. Next year I have to chill my hyacinths much earlier.

