A Snowy Carpet and a Green Lawn

Rye Grass is coming up as dead leaves fall. I do love green in winter.

The lawns were overseeded early in the month. No fertilizer, no watering. Our permanent grass is a mixture of mostly Centipede and Bahia. Both are brown in winter.

Gerbera Daisy

This is a seedling. I never bought one this pale in color. I dug and potted four Gerberas and left them outside. When the weather gets really cold, they’ll come inside where I left a sunny corner of the greenhouse for them.

Oxalis

Wood sorrel came up at the edge of the tool shed and is blooming. It’s considered a weed, but not so invasive as some so I let it go and pretend it is a shamrock.

First blossoms on Alyssum with Duranta Blooms

Foxtail fern was so leggy that I underplanted it with Alyssum that is finally blooming. I’m beginning to wish I’d taken more than two Duranta cuttings for winter bloom.

Pink Begonia

Pink Begonia cutting and more Duranta blooms. The bud is just emerging on the Amaryllis in the near pot. The far one is starting to crack open. I can hardly wait, though I meant them for Christmas.

Violas and Gulf Frit

I don’t know where Gulf Fritillaries, Sulphurs and Skippers hid when we had the one night of freezing temperatures, but they came back out when the weather warmed. The violas that were trimmed by critters have started up blooming again since I moved them.

Camellia and Buffy

Buffy looks as if she is playing in snow where Camellia sasanqua petals carpet the ground.

Camellia Blossoms

They last a short time, each blossom, but as one sheds more open. The fragrance of tea is noticeable when it rains.

A path of petals and a collar of Confederate jasmine under the Camellia tree.

3 Comments

  1. anthony

     /  November 27, 2011

    Reading articles like this one I always find some useful information and new pieces of advice that I can apply in my own garden. As someone who cares a lot about the garden throughout the whole year I try to learn as much as I can as far as its maintenance especially during the autumn and winter months is concerned. For example, I didn’t know that it’s much better to use fertilizers lower in nitrogen but higher in potassium and phosphorus in order to prevent the damage that could be caused when the cold weather arrives.

    • Nell Jean

       /  November 27, 2011

      Remember when you read blogs outside your general area of the continent that not garden areas are the same. We have no snow, our temperatures are usually above freezing except for brief periods during some nights and my rural methods require little to no fertilizer. If we were planting ryegrass as forage for cattle, we would fertilize. As a cover crop for lawn grass like dormant Centipede which does not require added nitrogen, it asks for nothing.

  2. Oh, what an inspiration! My white camellia looks the same–such a delight! Although we no longer have a dog, sigh. And I learned another name for oxalis! I didn’t have the slightest idea of what it was, no idea it was a ‘weed’. I adored it immediately, and my mother called it oxalis. It’s coming up all over my place now, too, with the rain. The grands love picking it for me.

