Foliage Followup with Fancy Names

 Graptopetalum paraguayense Ghost Plant

backed with Rose Campion foliage

Strobilanthes dyerianus Persian Shield

Cymbopogon citratus Lemon Grass

Pink Muhly Grass, Muhlenbergia capillaris

Cycas revoluta Sago Palm

Purple Heart Setcreasea purpurea and Chartreuse Alternanthera

Canna x generalis

The closest relatives to cannas are gingers, bananas, marantas, heliconias and strelitzias.

Maybe by next month some gingers will bloom and the strelitzia will have one more leaf.

Visit Pam/Digging for Foliage Followup from Friends in the Garden.

My Bloom Day Butterflies post is on Dotty Plants blog, complete with Butterflies video.
The

4 Comments

  1. a calvacade of color and texture.

  2. Persian shield is truly a beauty. You have a number of nice purple-tinged plants, one of my fave leaf colors. Thanks for joining in today!

  3. Have always loved the color of Persian Shield – there ain’t much foliage out there that looks any better.

  4. Persian Shield, first time I saw it, it took my breath, saw it in partly shaded area under some kinda japanese maple I think……cannas? remind me of my grandmother…….Wandering Jew? Me…..:-)……Ghost plant, my wife loves them, so I do too….:-) pink Muhly grass, don’t grow but will now if I can find a nice place, I do Morning Light and Pennisetum purpureum “Princess” and something kinda new called Pennisetum “Fireworks” , well new for me anyways……Sago Palm, would only make me sad at missing my grandaddy’s old vacation home on Pensecola Beach, he bought it in 1954, not many condos then……:-) Anyways I love foliage too…….

