Bloom Day after Hail

Happy Bloom Day! We had hail yesterday afternoon, so you may notice some damaged leaves and blossoms. I started with 36 pics that I thought you just must see and narrowed them down to a dozen so you can hurry on to the next Bloom Day post.


‘Julia Child’ floribunda rose with yellow daylilies, black-eyed Susan and Shasta Daisies.

 
From top left: Salmon Sheen, Silver Veil, Brocaded Gown, old red, Sammy Russell, Superlative.


‘Laura Bush’ petunias


Hydrangea


LA Lily


Magnolia ‘Little Gem’


Trailing Yellow Lantana and a Butterfly


White Crape Myrtle in front of Oakleaf Hydrangea


Hydrangea quercifolia with garden name ‘Miss Cassie’

Belinda’s Dream


Pink Knockout

It’s wonderful to see so many spring blooms on sites around the northern hemisphere and fall scenes in the southern hemisphere on Bloom Day.

Garden Bloggers Bloom Day is hosted by Carol at May Dreams Gardens.

15 Comments

  1. Why did you switch to WordPress, if you don’t mind my asking?

    Your garden looks pretty good for having been hit by hail. Your roses are lovely!

  2. I’m not sure how you were able to narrow it down to 12 based on the lovely blooms I see. Sorry about your hail. Love how it always seems to come just when the plants are starting to look so nice!

  3. Your garden doesn’t appear to have suffered at all from the hail, thank goodness! So many lovely blooms–it’s great to see the daylilies already. You’re making me anxious for daylily season which won’t be for another month here.

  4. The dreaded hail… how very distressing to all gardeners. We have been lucky as it occurs all around us, but we’ve only been hit once (and not all that badly) in almost forty years.Your blooms are lovely despite any damage that occurred! Larry

  5. Good job editing out the hail damage–I would have never guessed. I would like to try hydrangeas, but I’m not sure if they will do well here.

  6. I don’t see much evidence of hail damage. My plants don’t look that good on a good day. LOL

  7. Lovely Lillies and roses! I enjoyed my walk through your garden. Happy GBBD!

  8. All of these colorful blooms make it pleasant to linger here! My daylilies (and a few others that you pictured) won’t be open for another few weeks, but this is a reminder of what’s to come. I love the varieties you’ve chosen.

  9. So beautiful after hail. You are lucky.

  10. Your Hydrangea quercifolia is very impressive – amazingly full. I’ve only planted one Hydrangea in my yard – can only hope it grows to be like yours.

  11. Glad to see there wasn’t too much hail damage to your garden; it looks lovely. I especially love that Oakleaf hydrangea!

  12. Even after a hail, there are so many blooms in your garden to admire. I came here specially to ‘smell’ the magnolias :>)

  13. Everything is lovely, especially all of your lilies…so many colors. Happy GBBD Day!

  14. No need to hurry, you have a very pretty display. You are in our summer with these beauties.

  15. Plants are so resilient. The flowers in your photos look so enthusiastic that I’d have never guessed you suffered hail damage. Happy bloomday!

