Peanut Harvest

Farmer Danny was picking peanuts in the far north field. You can see the dust between the picker/tractor and the trailers. Very dusty work.
Peanuts are plowed up and the roots turned up for the picker to run over.
When I looked at the close-up picture I took of the peanuts, I noticed something else. Can you see the deer hoofprints? The night before, after the peanuts were plowed, deer had a feast.
This is what we saw on the way to the field: Sumac, backlit by the sun, along a fence.
5 Comments

  1. Mary Delle

     /  November 19, 2009

    So interesting. I never knew how they harvested them.

  2. janie

     /  November 19, 2009

    The only peanuts I have ever seen growing were in West Texas. It surprised me, as peanuts need water. The irrigate and use the big watering systems, and even with all that, it must be a profitable crop. They do it year after year…

    I love that sumac. No color here.

  3. Les

     /  November 19, 2009

    The smell of freshly harvested peanuts is very distinct. They were once a very important crop near here, but foriegn trade has left us only growing gourmet types.

  4. fairegarden

     /  November 19, 2009

    Hi Nell, thanks for educating those of us who had no idea how peanuts got harvested. I would imagine the deer were quite happy to find those nicely dug up goodies. Hope they left some for the humans too. The sumacs have been incredible this year, or maybe we are just noticing them more. 🙂

    Frances

  5. gld

     /  November 19, 2009

    Nell, I knew they plowed them up, but had no idea there was a picker that followed. How long do they let them lay before the picker? Also, what about the trash left? Is that just incorporated into the soil for next year's planting?

    The sumac is beautiful. I am not seeing as much color as I thought we would have with all the rain and cool temps. Sumac is another plant we share in common.

