Turning Leaves, Blooming Weeds: Fall!


Oakleaf hydrangea leaves are beginning to turn. Here, backlit by the morning sun.


Random leaves on Loropetalum turn bright red; shown here with Rabbit Tobacco.
I allow some volunteers to remain in planted beds. The resinous fragrance of  Rabbit Tobacco reminds me of Autumn days of my childhood.


Tecoma stans, Esperanza to some readers, blooms yellow all summer and until frost.


I noticed that ‘Julia Child’ in gardens where it has turned cooler are a darker yellow than mine.


Solidago blooming at woods edge. Chinaberries are still dark green. They will turn bright yellow soon.


Salvia leucantha gives a purple haze to fall flower beds.


Virginia Creeper is one of our few bright red fall leaf colors. Sumac and Sassafras are not yet turning, for more red. Many trees here go from bright green to brown when frost comes. I noticed some yellow leaves on Wild Cherry today.

14 Comments

  1. persephone

     /  October 16, 2009

    Love the colors! I could smell the last of the roses and fall air in those! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Accidental Huswife

     /  October 13, 2009

    I love your autumn. So many beautiful colors. I'm amazed that Epseranza grows in so many different climates — ours too!

  3. Ellie Mae's Cottage

     /  October 12, 2009

    Wild sumac in the fall is one of my favorites. What a lovely post! -Jackie

  4. Catherine@AGardenerinProgress

     /  October 12, 2009

    I love the Tecoma. I saw it on your blog not too long ago and now I need to see if I can grow it here. I also have 'Julia Child' and I just love it, mine is more of a buttery yellow right now.

  5. Kiki

     /  October 12, 2009

    Very Beautiful post! I love all the photos… the last picture was my fave with the tree… just gorgeous! Wonderful!

  6. Mary Delle

     /  October 12, 2009

    Lovely fall display. I love the Virgnia Creeper slowly show her colors. I'd love to see her again when the colors are all there.

  7. Grace Peterson

     /  October 12, 2009

    I'm wondering why it's called "Rabbit Tobacco." I didn't know rabbits were drawn to this sort of thing. LOL Very nice photos.

  8. Hocking Hills Gardener

     /  October 12, 2009

    Your bed of Salvia is just gorgeous. I love the Julia Child Rose and yours does look a little lighter in color that some I have saw on the blogs. Love yellow roses.

  9. Linda

     /  October 12, 2009

    I love the brilliant red of Virginia Creeper and Sumac. I need to learn the names of the plants that grow in our fields and woods. Some of them are really quite pretty.

  10. Msrobin

     /  October 12, 2009

    I have very much been enjoying the subtle transformation to autumn since my return from vacation. Isn't it lovely?

  11. Dave@The Home Garden

     /  October 12, 2009

    Our sassafras have been turning for a couple weeks now. The change seems slower than usual. Beautiful photos!

  12. Town Mouse

     /  October 11, 2009

    That oakleaf hydrangea is so lovely! Ah, fall really is fun and I enjoyed the stroll in your garden.

  13. pamsenglishgarden

     /  October 11, 2009

    Hi, Nell,
    Isn't it amazing how fragrances can instantly recall childhood memories? The rose is the obvious one for me … I am immediately transported back to my father's rose garden in England.
    Lovely post. Thanks. Pamela

  14. azplantlady

     /  October 11, 2009

    Hello Nell,

    I love the autumn leaves. Your Tecoma stans and Salvia leucantha are beautiful, we grow them here as well.

    Have a great week!