Of Flower Bricks and Garden Picks at Blotanical

I already knew Meems and Frances and Gail and Donna and Catherine and Cameron and Sue and so many other Blotanical members by way of one blog or another: one more meme, one more search for a certain garden plant or technique. I did wonder what made some of their blogs so popular and read their posts carefully, looking for clues.

I saw the Blotanical insignia on various blogs. On a whim, I signed up. Little did I know where I was headed. I forgot to return for a few days. When I did, I found a long page or two of messages from other members. Some had visited my blog and left comments, but I didn’t connect the two events right away. A couple of members faved my blog and I wasn’t sure what to do about that.

When I finally took time to look at the whole site, I found that we were in the midst of voting for Best Blogger in a long list of categories. Scrolling down, I discovered that I had been nominated for Best Georgia Blogger! I heard from Cherry of In the Garden and More , who really is Best Georgia Blogger because she really cares and takes time to encourage everybody with whom she has contact. She blogged not only that she had been nominated, but generously named and linked the rest of us.

I spent some time picking favs and choosing picks. I had to go back and read the FAQs several times to make sure I was doing it right. I learn something new each time I return. I finally watched the tutorial, which was a big help in understanding what the little symbols mean.

While I was reading some of the posts with interesting opening lines, I read one that mentioned Flower Bricks. Flower Bricks? Why, I have two of those, seldom used. That is how I discovered the beautiful blog of Julie of My English Country Garden. A whole new world has opened for me by way of Blotanical. Do join us!

18 Comments

  1. sequoiagardens

     /  October 3, 2009

    From one newby at Blotanical to another – except you've been blogging for longer: thanks for the support, and great to find you!

  2. Nell Jean

     /  October 2, 2009

    Thank you all, every one, for the kind and supportive comments. Those of you who had a question, I've responded on your blog.

    For anybody who might have wondered, Flowerlady did join Blotanical, Tom deserved his nomination, winning is great, but being nominated is a real honor. Janie is learning her way around, I'm not sure about Donna, I have to check on her and I did make a Flower Brick bouquet despite my eye problems and other infirmities of old age.

  3. Scott & Liz

     /  September 29, 2009

    Nell Jean, just to illustrate your comment regarding learning something new via Blotanical and the blogs I had never heard of a flower brick…a bit of research and I find this is an item my grandmother used. Thanks fora very fond memory.
    Scott

  4. janie

     /  September 28, 2009

    Well, I have joined, but have not the slightest idea of how to get around or what to do first. It will take me a little while, but I did want to vote for you.

  5. janie

     /  September 28, 2009

    Well, I have joined, but have not the slightest idea of how to get around or what to do first. It will take me a little while, but I did want to vote for you.

  6. Tom - 7th Street Cottage

     /  September 28, 2009

    I voted for you. Somehow, I got nominated for best NC blog. I feel bad because I haven't been to blotanical in a while. I still can't figure out how to get my messages. And I'm very good with computers. I thought.

  7. flowergardengirl

     /  September 28, 2009

    And you have a wonderful blog as well. Julie is one of my favs too and I love her flower brick fridays—but she did one on Sunday this week.

    So nice to meet you! Cherry is a beautiful person and doesn't surprise me that she would link to everyone in GA.

  8. Mary Delle

     /  September 28, 2009

    I'm glad you are discovering all these things about Blotanical. It took me a while after I joined. It makes blogging so much more fun with friends to share it with. Congratulations on your nomination.

  9. azplantlady

     /  September 28, 2009

    Congratulations! You have a great blog!

  10. Rosey Pollen

     /  September 28, 2009

    Yes, Blogging is a fabulous way to learn a bunch, without leaving the house.
    Congrats to you!
    Rosey

  11. myenglishcountrygarden

     /  September 28, 2009

    Nell, I too had to apologise for "ignoring" comments form kind people who were messaging me when I first joined Blotanical.It took me a while to get the hang of it,and Im sure I made many bloopers on the way 😉 Thanks very much for the link….are we going to join forces on Friday ?;-)

  12. Tatyana@MySecretGarden

     /  September 28, 2009

    Congratulations to you! We are glad to have you here.

  13. FlowerLady

     /  September 28, 2009

    Good morning Nell ~ Does your blog have to be totally about gardening in order to join Blotanical? I've seen some nice blogs there that is for sure and I would love to learn more and enjoy seeing more pictures of other gardens.

    Congratulations on your nomination.

    FlowerLady

  14. donna

     /  September 28, 2009

    Try as I might, my computer won't let me join Blotanical and it's very frustrating. Will probably limp along with this computer until after the first of the year. This post makes me want to try again. The problem couldn't possibly be ME, it must be the COMPUTER. Like you did at first, I usually skip the tutorials and then wonder why I'm confused.

  15. Grace Peterson

     /  September 27, 2009

    Hi Nell~~ I remember it well. It was last January for me and it took awhile to figure everything out. I had to ask for help in figuring out the Picks. LOL Love your rose photo.

  16. Muhammad khabbab

     /  September 27, 2009

    congratulations!!!! best of luck with the finals.

  17. Sue

     /  September 27, 2009

    This was a nice post, Nell. I had to laugh when you talked about figuring things out there. I'm not sure if I have everything figured out. Do you know you will get a star by your name now, which shows you have written about blotanical on your blog?

  18. Catherine@AGardenerinProgress

     /  September 27, 2009

    It's pretty amazing how much you can learn from gardeners from all over the world. I first found your blog through Garden Web and was glad when I saw you had joined Blotanical because I think you have a great blog. Congratulations on your nomination! 🙂

