Mandevilla

This is the fifth year for this vine returning after dying back in the winter. It takes a while every spring, but it finally emerges. The first year I just cut it back in the pot and put it in the utility room where it was fine until late winter when I noticed every joint had mealy bug. I swabbed it well with alcohol, which killed the pests. That spring I put it in the ground by one of the grape arbor supports and told it that it was on its own. It competes well with the climbing Peace rose. Now I notice in the photo that the grapevine has reached for that space.

Some years it had seed pods, but I never saved any.

Next Post

9 Comments

  1. Teri C

     /  September 4, 2009

    I came over for your meme and saw the mandevila title so I had to look here first. My daughter grows them in Wisconsin and they are so beautiful! Love that flower and i need to tell her how you overwinter it.

  2. Sue

     /  September 3, 2009

    We've grown those as annuals before. Yours sure is pretty.

    By the way, my tithonia plants across the street are about a foot taller than I am. The one in my front yard is a little shorter than I am. So, you've said that they self sow? So far, I"m deadheading, but will let some go to seed before the first frost.

  3. Mom Taxi Julie

     /  September 2, 2009

    I saw one at Lowes the other day for $7. Kicking myself that I didn't buy it!

  4. Chris

     /  September 2, 2009

    All of my vines are very young.

    Hope they last 5 years like yours.

  5. gld

     /  September 2, 2009

    Been meaning to mention I love the 'no silly word code'.

    I bought a mandevilla exactly the same color as yours. I potted in in a larger pot and noticed immediately it was covered with what looked like yellow aphids. I don't think it has grown two inches all summer.

    It will winter over in the milk parlor along with the yellow one that has climbed to the top of the porch.

  6. gld

     /  September 2, 2009

    Been meaning to mention I love the 'no silly word code'.

    I bought a mandevilla exactly the same color as yours. I potted in in a larger pot and noticed immediately it was covered with what looked like yellow aphids. I don't think it has grown two inches all summer.

    It will winter over in the milk parlor along with the yellow one that has climbed to the top of the porch.

  7. donna

     /  September 2, 2009

    It must be fun living in a zone where you can leave a Mandevilla in the ground year around and still have it bloom beautifully. But then again, you don't get to build a snowman on a regular basis:) I know, I know…you'd choose the Madevilla over the snowman any day.

  8. Muhammad khabbab

     /  September 2, 2009

    nice pic. Is it fragrant Mandevilla? this vine does pretty well in our hot climate but not available here.

  9. Darla

     /  September 2, 2009

    Very pretty! I was just checking out your bottle tree from Tina's sidebar, she has posted a new one today.

