Bloom Day, August

I think I’ll just post a few tropicals, since it is August.


Pride of Barbados and Esperanza


Curcuma (Hidden Ginger)


Crinum jagus, in bud. They open at night and stay open through the next day. Vanilla fragrance!

Bloom Day is hosted here: May Gardens. Go there to visit all the August Bloom Day Gardens and add yours to the list.


Datura, backed by Melampodium


Tibouchina

Tropicals and subtropicals in glorious bloom I didn’t post: Heliconia, Porterweed, Pentas, Cannas, Caladiums, Begonias, Shrimp Plant, Bulbine, Mandevilla, Madagascar periwinkle and Lantana. After two years of drought, we’ve had frequent rain this year. My new camera finally arrived.

Eager to post Bloom Day, I took pics late last evening. Today everything looks even better. If you came from May Dreams, you might want to go here: You Should Have Been Here Tomorrow to see the open Crinum buds and a better view of the Daturas.

Previous Post

10 Comments

  1. Sylvana

     /  August 18, 2009

    These are flowers that I will probably never grow, so its great to be able to see them on your blog.

  2. Muum

     /  August 18, 2009

    looks great! I am envying your ginger, I have some in a pot I haven't quite killed yet. 😦

  3. Jim-The Gaudy Garden

     /  August 16, 2009

    love the ginger. When we move back to Florida, I think I'll start collecting ginger. Wonderful post.

  4. Country Gardener

     /  August 16, 2009

    Beautiful. Thanks for visiting, and good luck with your own meadow plants. Cheers/Yvonne

  5. Gail

     /  August 16, 2009

    Even the names of tropicals are lovely! Beautiful blooms…I love the gingers…gail

  6. Teresa~Gardening with Soule

     /  August 15, 2009

    Tropicals, you are so lucky to have these. Here in the northeast we don't get these beauties. Yours are very beautiful.

  7. Green Fairy

     /  August 15, 2009

    Those datura are gorgeous. I planted white this year and was thrilled with the results; next year, I think I'll try a little more color. 🙂

  8. FlowerLady

     /  August 15, 2009

    You have some real tropical beauties there Nell. I bet that crinum that smells like vanilla is wonderful.

    FlowerLady

  9. Iris

     /  August 15, 2009

    Beautiful! Those blooms look so exotic. That datura is so mysterious: I'm tempted to try one because apparently they can handle our heat/drought.

  10. Alan

     /  August 15, 2009

    Your right, August is the 'tropical' month.
    Great photos of your gorgeous tropicals!

