In Flight Monday

Butterflies are plentiful. I’m seeing more Zebra Swallowtails than ever. Today there was a pair, and an extra showed up. Here’s the pair. Curiously, one would disappear under the lantana when approached by the other. Maybe they sought privacy. There’s a pawpaw nearby, just in case they need a host plant.

Gulf Frits were everywhere but favored Pride of Barbados, I wondered if it’s because they’re orange, and like orange flowers.

A crop duster flew over as I was out with the butterflies, en route to a field south of here.

I saw others, a Buckeye that wouldn’t hold still for pictures, a dogface who would hold still but when they’re on flowers, their wings are folded. I never get a good shot where you can see the ‘poodle face’ plainly.

Spicebush Swallowtails are our most plentiful, here on Pentas.

From August 2009

Here’s a final Zebra, my fav, on lantana surrounded by Madagascar periwinkles.

Previous Post
Next Post

7 Comments

  1. Jeanette

     /  July 21, 2011

    I saw the Pride of Barbados at Calloway’s and thought it looked like a plant I would like to put in my Butterfly garden. I am glad to see you like it. Any suggestions for placement? I have not seen many butterflies this year. The Giant Yellow Swallowtail like the abelia.
    Jeanette

    • Nell Jean

       /  July 22, 2011

      Pride of Barbados needs full sun and plenty of room. Mine are crowded by Tecoma stans because both grew bigger than I expected.

  2. Jim-The Gaudy Garden

     /  August 5, 2009

    great photos!

  3. MissyM

     /  August 4, 2009

    That is a great picture of the one in flight. I love that Pride of Barbados, I have never seen that before.

  4. donna

     /  August 4, 2009

    Looks like you're living in butterfly heaven. That's the main reason I plant Lantana, to attract the butterflies. Not that it's worked in my yard this year. Although we are starting to see lots of Monarchs, so I should stop complaining.

  5. gld

     /  August 4, 2009

    We are still not seeing many butterflies this year.

    I see a couple and when I find the camera, they are gone and don't come back.

    I have the same plantings as years past.

    I really miss seeing them fluttering about when I am weeding or just watching.

    You caught these nicely!

  6. Sue

     /  August 3, 2009

    Hi Nell,
    I am finally starting to see more butterflies other than the Monarch I've seen every day for a few weeks. I haven't had my camera out when I saw them for the most part. I think I need to just take it out when it's sunny.

    I love your photos. I thing the second one, the one with the orange flowers and the one butterfly up in the air is my favorite.

