Hot Summer Daylilies

At 10 am, it was 86 degrees and 76% humidity, in the shade. I was afraid to look at one of those heat index formulas. Yesterday as we left the city of Tallahassee, FL at 5 pm, it was 104 degrees.


This little daylily is a seedling that was forgotten until it bloomed.
Planted among echinacea, it picks up the gold in the coneflower centers.

Will I never learn? Those little bags with the pretty printed picture on a cardboard label always get my attention. This was supposed to be ‘Romantic Rose’ but the only thing I can match to any description of it is that it is a dormant cultivar. It’s hard to get the true color in bright sun, but it’s a pretty pale pink.

Previous Post
Next Post

4 Comments

  1. Hà Xuân

     /  June 19, 2009

    Nell, do daylilies need high temp to bloom? I have a few "cold" hybids from Canada and I see them grow very slowly. The temp in my garden is never higher than 80.

  2. OhioMom

     /  June 19, 2009

    104 degrees? Oh no, no can do that heat … your daylilies are lovely.

    Wonder if the one I planted will come back the same color? DD bought it for me for Mother's Day and I potted it in my container garden along with some Zinnia seed, thought the lily would come up next year, but they both are sprouting … LOL!

  3. Jan

     /  June 19, 2009

    It has been extremely hot here, too. Heat indexes in the 110 degree range. I also have been very frustrated with the mislabeled plants like your daylily. I have been seduced once too often and have now sworn off them. Unless it is blooming so I can see the flower, I am not buying it. Even though it is not what you thought you were buying, that daylily is pretty.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  4. glenda (gldno1)

     /  June 18, 2009

    And I thought we were hot yesterday with 92°, we did have 92% humidity which didn't help!

    This is not my favorite weather.

    I checked out the seedling My Sister and do love it. It seems I am always drawn to the pale, simpler ones….yet I look out and see deep oranges, burgundy eyes, some dark reds….at least no doubles!

