Colors of the Garden

The Front Islands have a color scheme — sort of. I read about a famous designer who renovated her garden using darkest Purple, palest Yellow, Chartreuse and all shades of Orange. Mine is loosely based on her choices, except that other colors keep sneaking in.

Kniphofia and Livin’ Easy

These are snapdragons from seed. I hoped for a darker bronze foliage and an even darker red color that I could pass off as purple. They will be pretty with the chartreuse alternanthera.
Black Prince

These pink snapdragons must be moved. Mixed seed last year, most of which were white or dark. These are perfect for another area, just not here.

Previous Post

5 Comments

  1. lostlandscape (James)

     /  May 25, 2009

    I think all these colors play well together. I would have never thought of orange as a particularly soothing color, but mixed in with the darker colors it seems restrained to me. Very nice.

  2. OhioMom

     /  May 24, 2009

    I love orange and purple in the garden 🙂

  3. janie

     /  May 24, 2009

    I have that same red snapdragon, still blooming like it had good sense. It is way too hot for snaps by now.

    It has a volunteer crepe myrtle next to it, and I want to remove it. I am waiting for the snaps to quit blooming….

    Janie

  4. Lancashire rose

     /  May 24, 2009

    I love the orange flowers- your red hot poker and the rose. The colors look very pretty in your garden. I never really cared for these colors until I came to Texas but this color does really well during the hot summer. Pink seem to fade. I once had rhps but somehow the plant was taken over by something else. I must gig it out in the fall and try for a better spot.

  5. Muh-Kuh

     /  May 23, 2009

    i love flowers. your pix are very beautiful

    http://www.pixum.de/slide/4315095

