May Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day

You would be here for a long visit if I showed you every little blossoming perennial and shrub, so I made two collages: one with roses, some coming into the second flush of bloom, and some of the daylilies just getting underway with some of their companions.


1st row: Rose des Violettes, Carefree Delight pruned as standard, & White Dawn
2nd Row: Livin’ Easy, a little wild rose, and Red Cascade


Daylilies include Kent’s Favorite II and an ancient red with no name; Brocaded Gown and Inner View, both shown with Stokesia. The close up of Inner View was an FFO.

Fat buds of true lilies are about to burst into bloom along with more daylilies. Please do come back later to see them.

Previous Post

16 Comments

  1. WashingtonGardener

     /  May 17, 2009

    I’m glad to see someone who really embraces roses – too many gardeners by me (in the Mid-Atlantic) have cheucked all but the KnockOuts from their gardens.

  2. sweet bay

     /  May 16, 2009

    Beautiful roses. I enjoyed seeing your garden and collages. Happy Bloom Day!

  3. Town Mouse

     /  May 15, 2009

    Happy bloom day! Wish I could smell the roses, they look so inviting. And, in case you don’t make it back to tmousecmouse, we are two bloggers with one garden each. Each mouse can really handle only one garden.

  4. gardenerprogress/Catherine

     /  May 15, 2009

    I wish I could take a walk through your garden. It’s just full of gorgeous flowers. You must really be proud of it šŸ™‚

  5. Iris

     /  May 15, 2009

    What a gorgeous place you have! Wow. Love the collages.

    I’m not familiar with Stokesia. I’ll have to look it up and see if it could survive here in Austin.

  6. Aerie-el

     /  May 15, 2009

    What beauties you have in your gardens! Happy GBBD and have a great weekend!

  7. Frances

     /  May 15, 2009

    Hi Nell Jean, what fabulous roses and well, everything! I bought Brocaded Gown last year, love that color. Our lily buds are swelling up nicely too. Can’t wait, for both of us. šŸ™‚
    Frances

  8. Gail

     /  May 15, 2009

    Hello! The collages are perfect for showcasing a lot of bloom! I am thrilled to have Red cascade…it's my first year with it and I can't believe it has blooms. All tips appreciated! I love the clematis climbing through the rose…I think they are ideal companions. Thanks for stopping by C&L! Happy Bloom Day…gail

  9. Rose

     /  May 15, 2009

    What a beautiful garden as seen in your header! It looks so inviting. Your roses and daylilies are lovely. Thanks for visiting me and have a happy Bloom Day!

  10. perennialgardener

     /  May 15, 2009

    The collages are beautiful today Nell. I love how you displayed all your beautiful Roses. It would be lovely to stroll through your gardens. šŸ™‚ Happy Bloom Day!

  11. JGH

     /  May 15, 2009

    Your collages are great. Such an array of varieties and colors. Your roses are very impressive.

  12. Country Gardener

     /  May 15, 2009

    Just lovely, wonderful photos! Isn’t spring the best. Happy gardening, Yvonne

  13. ConsciousGardener

     /  May 15, 2009

    Your garden is lovely! I really enjoyed the slideshow too, nice space:)

  14. Commonweeder

     /  May 15, 2009

    What beautiful photos of a beautiful garden. I especially like your roses. I can only grow the hardiest, usual blooming once a season.

  15. Marie

     /  May 15, 2009

    Georgia is lovely in May!

    You have a beautiful garden. We have a week or two until the roses open here in my zone 6 garden. Thanks for the great pictures.

    What a great month for GBBD.

  16. Tom - 7th Street Cottage

     /  May 15, 2009

    I love to see your flowers. I know what to expect 2-3 weeks away in my yard.

