The Wildflower Garden Gets Wilder

Poppies wax and wane. Following the poppy show comes Silene, or Catchfly. Curiously, the sandier end has blossoms already. The richer middle has bigger, heartier Silene foliage but no blooms yet. Toadflax continues and Venus’s Looking Glass is starting with pretty purple blooms darker than the toadflax. Wild oats are starting to go to seed; more pigweed is apparent and needs pulling. Black eyed Susans that I transplanted are taking hold. I’m looking at bringing in yarrow, if it rains.

4 Comments

  1. Sue

     /  April 26, 2009

    I enjoyed this enlarged. I love your wild flowers!

  2. NellJean

     /  April 22, 2009

    This is the old barn site, yes. The sides where the shed roofs were are sandier than the barn itself because more soil was brought in to the middle.

    White species yarrow, the wild kind, is what I want to move in here. It isn’t showy, but it attracts beneficials. Maybe I’ll sow some seeds of wild verbena like I see on the sides of the road to town.

    We picked up something to spray for mosquitos today, I can hardly stand to go outside, they’re like a cloud.

  3. Mildred

     /  April 22, 2009

    It is so very pretty! What color of yarrow? I have some pale yellow and it does not show up well.

  4. FlowerLady

     /  April 22, 2009

    Nell, isn’t that the bed where the shed or whatever used to be? I think it is filling in nicely and how wonderful to have the space to do something like that. I look forward to seeing more pictures of this wild garden as time goes on.

    FlowerLady

