A Glimpse of Roses

Belinda’s Dream was a gift from Janie. I added a Sweet William in exactly the same shade, next to the bunnie’s butt. Bath’s Pinks are great companions. I look forward to the lilies blooming, Elodie and Algarve, despite the pets’ help.

Knockout, the original, blooming in the Upper Garden. Pineapple Sage has been added to this bed, a perfect color match.


Sweet William makes a good companion to roses. This one is a perfect rose color. Rose de Rescht, planted nearby, has not bloomed yet.


The Chicken Rose, or Grandma’s Yellow Rose as TAMU dubbed it, blooms in a bed with other yellows, and white. The white blur behind is white pentas. Susie brought me the first white pentas I’ve had, perfect for this spot.

4 Comments

  1. OhioMom

     /  April 22, 2009

    Daddy had a rose garden, he would love your roses … great pics for Earth Day!

  2. Mildred

     /  April 22, 2009

    Pineapple sage is one of my favorites. It’s easy to grow and the hummingbirds love it and it smells great!
    Your roses are beautiful.

  3. FlowerLady

     /  April 22, 2009

    Your roses are looking great Nell. It’s nice seeing what’s happening in your gardens.

    FlowerLady

  4. Davy Barr

     /  April 21, 2009

    Wow, love the companion plants! Do they survive the summer? I haven’t really planned out companions to my roses. I just happen to already have some other plants in their vicinity…

