Agapanthus

Year before last, I bought two pots of agapanthus and planted out. Last summer, only one had a single bloom. I’ve read not to disturb them, but they weren’t all that happy, so I dug, divided and replanted, with the help of Buffie, my able assistant, who pulled them up twice.

Instead of two single clumps, they’re now 2 groups of three each. Some little pieces off the side went into a pot to grow on.

I’m trying not to plant out things, in case of frost. Only a week until our ‘last frost date’ but a week plus a month until the last date I’ve seen killing frosts. The urge to move things out and into the ground is very strong.

Previous Post
Next Post

4 Comments

  1. Sue

     /  March 27, 2009

    It didn’t occur to me that you had frequent frosts there, and a last average frost date. I forgot what zone you are.Your place is looking great!

  2. Chandramouli S

     /  March 7, 2009

    Hang on! The Spring’s almost there! Good luck

  3. Tom - 7th Street Cottage

     /  March 7, 2009

    Hmmm, another plant I think I want to add to my list of wants. I looked it up on google. Let us know how it does for you this year.

  4. Hà Xuân

     /  March 6, 2009

    What’s the color of your agapanthus?I have two varieties, blue and white. In my climate, agapanthus is quite easy to grow and they multiply fast. I plant a “row” of them in front of my home as foundation planting in 2005 and now I have lots of clumps. I also have some “volunteers” from seeds, too.Hope to see photos of your blooms soon.

