Favorite Purples

If I had bought or started plants and planted at the right time, Purple pansies would be again blooming in my garden as they did in 2004:

Purple tulips were a real show in March of 2004:


This year I planted orange tulips, in pots. Tulips require chilling and are treated as annuals here.

Purple Heart still grows at this corner, dormant for the winter now:

Cuttings of Persian Shield are in the greenhouse, as is the dark ‘Black Magic’ elephant ear. I’ve kept these plants going since 2005:

6 Comments

  1. Jean

     /  January 16, 2009

    You see Sammy, Sue. Sammy Russell, an old, old, old landscape daylily that Mr. Russell named for his son Sam. It’s a cute little scarlet that just blooms and blooms.

  2. Sue

     /  January 16, 2009

    Do I see liriope, too, in the next to last pic? I enjoy seeing your flowers whatever season they bloom in.

  3. glenda (gldno1)

     /  January 13, 2009

    Nell, I love the violets and tulips. I just don’t plan ahead enough for the violets and I had to give up tulips! We have so many moles, voles, or whatever those little tunneling, hill mounding varmints are that I don’t even get a fist year bloom.I must make a note to do violets! Yours are beautiful. I look longingly of combinations of purple and white tulips in the catalogs…..

  4. Meadowview Thymes

     /  January 12, 2009

    Love the little purple viola’s in first picture. I love all pansies..they smell so good when the sun hits them. I hope my tulips will work..I chilled them, but you never know till you see them poking up through the dirt! Fingers are crossed!

  5. Cameron (Defining Your Home)

     /  January 12, 2009

    Great purples! One of my favorite colors (but, I have many).CameronPS Sorry that I’ve not been by in awhile — been sick. Hoping today will be better.

  6. Chandramouli S

     /  January 12, 2009

    I love pansies. Especially the purple ones look like kitten looking up at you with pouty faces! I too planted tulips that my sis got me. I hope they flower like yours!

