Palamedes Swallowtail

Yesterday I saw a beautiful Palimedes Swallowtail, posed just so on some pentas. I watched him for the longest; here, there, everywhere, perfectly displayed. Bright gold and black, he looked newly hatched.

THEN I went for the camera and returned. He went wild. Flew high, darted through the shrubbery, zipped past the best flowers, returned to the pentas for a fraction of a second, disappeared.

I turned off the camera. He came back. I turned the camera back on. He high-fived a Gulf Frit and disappeared.

There’s no photo for this post.

Previous Post

2 Comments

  1. Sue

     /  October 6, 2008

    Hi Nell, This is lvtgrdn from Cottage Gardens. I have experienced the same thing from butterflies, too, especially Monarchs. Now, the bees let me get real close! I have been reading your blog by using a bookmark, but now that I’ve started a blog, I became a follower. Would you rather have me do it anonymously? Sue

  2. Defining Your Home

     /  October 4, 2008

    Butterflies aren’t always great models for our photos! If my shadow crosses over them, they dart away. Some are just too busy to stay still, too. Cameron

