Snapdragon Secrets

May 8, 2007

Previously, I thought snapdragons were treated as annuals here. They performed well in the cool weather of spring and died off when the summer got hot and humid. I noticed that mine, kept deadheaded, did not die. Instead they just went dormant and perked up in the fall.
May 5, 2008
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Last fall I took cuttings, just to see if they would root. They rooted easily.
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

White Rocket Snaps from cuttings taken last winter:
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Cuttings of Red Rocket Snaps now in bud:
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Previous Post

2 Comments

  1. OhioMom

     /  May 11, 2008

    They had snap dragons at the farmers market yesterday, here they are annuals. They remind me of my childhood 🙂

  2. ancient one

     /  May 8, 2008

    Those snap dragons are so pretty… I learn something every day… didn’t know you could root them…. Thanks for the info..

