There’s a Gap in My Spring


We went out of town to a funeral and I returned home ill, finally pneumonia. I missed two weeks of blooms, confined to the house and too sick to really notice, except I looked out the window now and then and saw the first lilies come into bloom.

Most of the early poppies bloomed without me. Roses came into bloom without my help, as did sweet peas. I ventured out lately and cut the seed pods off the sweet peas and they are about to bloom again. Weeds are getting ahead in some places, but most spots are planted too thick and the weeds have a hard time competing. Chickweed has gone to seed and died out; I’ll deal with it next year.

With help, the four tomatoes I grew from seed and kept bumping up until they filled gallon pots are planted in the ground along with 4, count ’em, four zuchinni plants. I overseeded the veggie bed with giant orange marigolds and put tithonia seeds on the end for the butterflies.

The GH seedlings and cuttings that I thought only I could take care of survived with watering by someone who knew nothing about watering, but was willing — I think that’s the secret, after all.

Previous Post

2 Comments

  1. OhioMom

     /  April 28, 2008

    I also wondered where you had gone off to, sorry to hear about your illness, glad to hear you are feeling better.The lilies here are not yet in bloom,we are having (or were having) an unseasonably warm Spring.For the next few days it will be more like the April I am used to 🙂

  2. dot

     /  April 23, 2008

    I was thinking about you today and wondering what happened to you. I’m sure that must have been a most miserable time. Glad to see you back.Your yellow lillies are very pretty.

