Welcome Back, Humman

He’s Back! No, the late Senator Talmadge has not returned from the grave. I was working in the little ruins bed next to the biggest camellia bush/tree when I heard, “Whum!” and looked into the bush to see a hummingbird has returned and was nectaring on camellia blooms. I finished planting white snapdragons and purple daylilies, watered and mulched and went inside to heat leftover pizza and boil sugar water for the hummers.

There was a huge woodpecker under a pecan tree this morning. He was walking around on the ground, pecking, and looked like a small turkey with a red head. After my attempt at photos through the window screen was a disaster, he flew when I went outside. He went across the highway into a big oak tree. Mockingbirds followed, screeching. He drummed once once on a hollow limb and they fled, screeching, back to the front yard.

The other beauty I saw was a Tiger Swallowtail butterfly. If there weren’t so many chores to do, I’d just go outside and sit, camera at the ready. A camera outside when I’m working would tend to get full of dirt.

Previous Post

5 Comments

  1. Jenni

     /  March 28, 2008

    Oh That Reminds me I need to place some sugar water in my hummer feeder… Glad I found your blog…–ThirteenEleven

  2. Yolanda Elizabet

     /  March 24, 2008

    Hummingbirds and butterflies, how wonderful! Here we’re having snow at the mo, which is special too as we hardly ever get any.

  3. WillThink4Wine

     /  March 23, 2008

    Our dogwoods are blooming, azaleas are in full glory! Your garden is so lovely! It must be difficult to know what to look at next.

  4. OhioMom

     /  March 22, 2008

    When I looked out my window this morning I saw 6 inches of snow … 🙂

  5. dot

     /  March 22, 2008

    That means they will be here soon so I better get the feeder cleaned up and filled. Sounds like you had an exciting day with all that activity!

