Wildflowers


Yesterday I noticed yellow flowers that I did not plant, beginning to open. A closer look noted that the tubular flowers were above cutleaf foliage that resembled small blue-green parsley leaves.

Yellow Corydalis!
(Corydalis flavula (Yellow Fumewort, Yellow Harlequin; a plant native to the United States. Corydalis species are used as food plants by the larvae of some Lepidoptera species including Silver-ground Carpet and Mnemosyne butterfly). USDA Plants Database

It’s shown in some sources as being a member of the Papaveracea family, Fumitory family in others. It doesn’t resemble a poppy, but it’s about to bloom with California poppies.

Next Post

2 Comments

  1. janie

     /  March 11, 2008

    My California poppies are not near blooming yet.I have been leaving the weed “beggar’s lice” to remain in some of my beds to protect some tender plants. It pulls easily, it has no roots!I envy your little yellow flowers. Very pretty.

  2. deborah wilson

     /  March 10, 2008

    Pretty!I like the photo of the metal glider in your side bar, my aunt use to have one of those, except hers was yellow..:)

