Winter Chores

Chickweed is growing like, well, like weeds. Careful hand pulling without gloves reveals little poppies and larkspurs under there. I left chickweed that is growing around the red alternanthera by the far rock bed in hopes that it will protect the alternanthera roots until it resprouts.

I was looking at blog of someone over in Charleston and he has daylilies in gallon pots in a greenhouse. Why didn’t I think of that? Next year, maybe.

A catalog came today from where I usually buy daffodils. They have lots of lilies. I could use some yellow lilies for the new bed that has yellow roses, daffodils and various yellow and blue annual seeds planted. In the best world, the daffodils will be followed by some annuals and other annuals will bloom with the roses. Maybe. There’s blue spiderwort on the west end, self planted. Natives will save a garden in drought. I don’t know about farther north, but spiderwort blooms like crazy through spring here. When it gets seedy looking, I cut it back to the ground. It comes back with fervor. Might be considered invasive by some, but it makes a good edge for the back sides of island beds, competing well with grass.

Previous Post

4 Comments

  1. Rose

     /  February 1, 2008

    Spiderwort grows here in the wild. We have both purple and a deep blue variety. I leave it in the wild. There is a whole bank of it along the driveway coming into our place. There are a few other wild flowers that bloom there during the summer and in fall the space is filled with wild sunflowers. Too bad I can’t improve the appearance of the area around the bank. The stack yard, and several old implements surround the area 😦

  2. Jean

     /  January 29, 2008

    I plan to divide that big clump of spiderwort and spread it down the back edge of the bed. Just in front of the spiderworts, I planted 9 white ‘Rocket’ snapdragons that rooted, of 12 I stuck.The red snaps didn’t root as easily but I had 2 nice ones to add to the old ones.that yellow lily is an LA called ‘Dazzle’ — I call it Razzle Dazzle.

  3. janie

     /  January 29, 2008

    I hate that chickweed. We have been pulling it by the bushel already.I cannot wait for spring. I am ready for some pretty things in my garden. I am pulling weeds, and transplanting a few things. I love the yellow lily.

  4. Carol

     /  January 28, 2008

    Spiderwort spreads “a little” in my garden, but not so much that I can’t keep it more-or-less under control. I keep some growing for two reasons… they are pretty in the morning and my grandmother always had some.It’s still too early, and cold, here to worry about chickweed, but our time will come!Carol, May Dreams Gardens

