April Peek into the Greenhouse

Alison reminded us that it is time to look in the greenhouse again. Hers looks swell. She has seedlings of all kinds and even a blooming Brugmansia. Here’s mine:

I washed the outside last week before the rains came.
What looks like a pile of rubble to the left is the new Urbanite and brick patio.

Evacuation started here when I thought cold weather was over. Some of the plants I moved out shivered for a night or two, but nobody froze. Epiphyllums are on a bench under the cedar tree behind gardenias and things, ready for warm nights so they can bloom.

Tomato plants got to stay inside a little longer because of the
cold rain. What looks like yellow leaves at the bottom are labels.
I haven’t decided where Bromeliads are going to summer. Red Begonias and Alternanthera can go with them, or somewhere else. The rest of Begonias are already outside in shade.
My Easter tableau looked more like Christmas, but that’s an
Easter Cactus. i.
 
Here’s where i and Schlumbergera are summering.  
 

Urbanite and Brick Patio. Surely you didn’t think I was going to sit out there in the summer? Jungle cactuses summer in this same space last year on this same table. Now there’s more room and I won’t have to walk through weeds.

 

A closer look at brick seams between the broken concrete.
Another, bigger  Easter Cactus at back left. All tiny pots of
Schlumbergera cuttings have been bumped up to the size that fits into cache pots. They are of cache pots for summer so they can easily drain after a rain.
Waiting for summer homes in the ground are Pineapple Sage, Porterweed, Chartreuse Alternanthera and others.
 Propagation is an on-going process here.
Every little succulent leaf that falls gets to start life
as a new plant. Every broken piece of something
goes into a pot to root, which is why I have too
many Epiphyllums and more.
If you haven’t a greenhouse, then you must have a bright window or a grow light somewhere. Orchids are blooming in an east window here. What’s blooming at your place?

.

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I finally found a small pot of that burrow’s tail at one of the big box nurseries. I was so happy to add it to my collection.

    Reply
    • Nell Jean

       /  April 23, 2014

      I’m glad you found one. Save every little bean that gets knocked off and grow more.

      I hope to find ‘String of Pearls’ one day.

    • Yes, yes, yes! I want that String of Pearls, too. Our big box nurseries are starting to get more succulents in than previous years and I’ve been looking for it.

I appreciate your comments. Spam will be fried.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

