Bloom Day Where I Come From

I was reminded of a country song about ‘Where I Come From’ when I read Lady Bird Johnson’s quote, “Wherever I go in America, I like it when the land speaks its own language in its
own regional accent.” I grow a mix of natives and old favorites under and around oaks, pines and pecan trees.

It’s the time of year here when native Hydrangea quercifolia is starting to fade.
Mophead hydrangeas are not native but are a staple in the southern garden,
blue where the soil is acid. Daylilies bring daily surprises as later cultivars
open. True lilies are just beginning. Crinum lilies have no buds so far.
‘Lullabye Baby’ and Oakleaf Hydrangea which
has turned from white to a delicate pink as
blossoms fade. Regal lily foliage seen.
‘Byron Paul’ daylily in front of Larkspur.
Larkspur was not as plentiful this spring, maybe because
of the mild winter. I know some poppies perished in early
heat. California poppies persist, not native here but they
seem to make themselves at home.
 Persian Shield, Mophead Hydrangea and native Stokesia
for a range of blues and purples with a spot of

dappled sunlight.

Pipevine Swallowtail on Lantana montevidensis
We are seeing more and more butterflies, including Tigers and Zebras.
You might read about them in the previous post.

This view has been a long-lasting one with Echinacea and ‘Salmon Sheen’ daylilies. Salvia farinacea  behind not quite visible. Vitex at right starting to bloom as ‘Carefree Delight’ rose goes out of bloom.

Bi-tone seedling daylily with Yellow lantana, another butterfly fav.
Gardenias are blooming. I wish you could catch the fragrance.

Pentas and Daylilies in this bed are joined by
Laura Bush petunias for a rose-colored medley.
Hibiscus syriacus, which we call Altheas, between Gardenia bushes.
Hummingbirds visit Altheas. This is the only color I grow.
They come in lovely pinks, lavenders and whites. Some
have single blossoms.
It was hard to keep images under my self-imposed limit of fewer than a dozen.
Many thanks to Carol of May Dreams Gardens for hosting Bloom Day.
Be sure to visit, add your blog and leave a comment.
Happy Bloom Day!
4 Comments

  1. I like the echinacea and lily combo. I feel like I can smell the gardenias anyway. Photos always evoke memories of its scent.

  2. Mophead hydrangea– so that’s what I’ve got :). I spotted a tiny little bloom yesterday. Don’t know why it did not bloom, unless I did not water enough. We are still overly dry here, at least by my est.. How beautiful your blooms. Thanks for the inspiration.

  3. Nell Jean, I love that orange daylily and echinacea combo, even though I’m not a big fan of orange. You make it lovely.

  4. Thanks for letting me have a stroll in your garden :-) Lovely collection of flowers, I particularly liked the daylily ‘Byron Paul’ and the Hibiscus. My daylilies show no sign at all of any buds yet, as here in London where I live we have had the wettest, coldest and latest spring on record. Guess you Americans got all the spring weather this year and left none to us :-) Today we had 8 degrees C and hailstorm! We are in serious need of some sunshine here, and looking at your pictures lifted my spirit :-)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

